Move or Copy a Project to Another Teamwork Projects Account

Posted

This month we are really happy to announce that you can now copy or move projects between different Teamwork Projects sites.

Note: you need to be a site administrator to copy content between sites. 

One of the reasons this was being requested so much was as people added clients to their installation their clients realized the value that Teamwork Projects brought to their company, and they saw the benefit of using a project management app to help run their projects smoothly.

Naturally, the client would love to have the current project in their new account and up until now this wasn’t possible.

There are a few steps that you must do to successfully transfer a project to a new account.

First of all you must link the accounts. Don’t worry this is only a link to the individual user, it doesn’t mean that your accounts will be joined in any other way.

For those of you who don’t already know, a while back we released a feature called Sites. What this enables you to do is to quickly jump between Teamwork.com accounts without have to log out and in each time.

What you do is login to one account, navigate to your image on the top right-hand side, click on My Setails. Go to Account tab and look for the Advanced Options link.

 

Move or copy a project to another Teamwork Projects account Move or copy a project to another Teamwork Projects account

Once you select this you will see the options to link your accounts. If you used the same email address for your other accounts it will display there. If you have used another email account you can enter this here to display your other Teamwork Projects accounts.

Move or copy a project to another Teamwork Projects account

Now follow the instructions on screen and link your accounts.

Once you have the accounts linked you are ready to go.

Now click into the correct project you wish to move or copy items from, select project options from the overview page, then pick copy/move this project. 

Move or copy a project to another Teamwork Projects account

At the top of the light box pick your action and then pick the account to which you wish to move/copy the project to.

You can see you also have the options to pick what elements of the project you wish to move.

Move or copy a project to another Teamwork Projects account
enterprise

Keep your projects on track with Teamwork.com

Streamline. Connect. Collaborate.

One account works for all Teamwork.com apps. Have an account? Sign in here.

26 Comments

Sam Kidd

@Bill it is still there. You need to make sure that you have linked your accounts first so the sites feature is active. If you are still having issues, drop us an email to support.

Reply
Mark

I’m experiencing some strange behaviour when trying to copy/move more than one project consecutively; the first works, sometimes even the second, but after a while, the “COPY THIS PROJECT” button at the bottom of the lightbox disappears. Same problem occurs on Chrome, Safari and Firefox (on Mac).

Reply
Rhonda

Can you explain the process of selecting the “date offset” days? Mine defaulted to 342 and when copying over the project, it set all of my completed tasks as new tasks and also created entries for all recurring tasks, which shouldn’t be shown until the task before it has been completed.

Also, what is the best way NOT to copy over private or locked messages?

Thanks

Reply
Adrian Kerr

Hi Rhonda,

The offset days is the date from when the project was originally created. It brings the whole project forward to todays date. You can edit this or you can use the option to select a date. Once you select a date you wish the project to start you will note the date offset will also be updated.
If you do not wish to show the completed tasks then there is an option when copying to not copy them.

There is at the moment no option to select which messages to copy, it is all or nothing.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,

Adrian

Reply
Katrina

Hi Adrian,

I was also having some concerns on the completed tasks that are all copied and set as new tasks to our new Teamwork account. Is there any possible way where we can copy the completed ones as completed on the new account?

Reply
Adrian Kerr

Hi Katrina,

I believe you sent this into support as well, the answer is you can, this is done from the options section when copying the project. Here you can choose to reopen the tasks and milestones or leave them as completed.

Best regards,

Adrian

Reply
Shane

Are you able to share a project between 2 accounts? Rather than jumping between accounts it would be good to share a project to multiple companies.

Reply
JJ Sereday

I too would like to know if two “companies” can share one project. That would be very useful instead of logging in and out each time.

Reply
Peter Coppinger

Hi JJ, unfortunately not. The best you can do at the moment is link up the two sites so that you can easily switch between them.

Now that said, between you and me, we are secretly working towards this ability to share projects… so watch this space.

Reply
Lee

Are we still able to do this? The Options button on a project seems to have changed “Copy/Move” to just “Copy” and the option to pick another account does not seem to be there.

Reply
Therese Cohalan

Hi Lee,

Thanks for getting in touch. Yes you are still able to do this. If you open any project > Overview page > Options menu > from there select Copy/Move – either option will let you select the linked account to copy or move to another Teamwork Projects account. There are a few tabs to work through when copying or moving the project, so I would say maybe test this a few times to ensure you fully understand how the feature works.

Hope this helps.
Therese

Reply
Jeremiah Castillo

I was wondering if you guys can look into linking accounts which then allows those projects from those linked account to be seen on the dashboard and calendar. I own a business but do work for other companies as part of their team. However, would like to be able to see all the projects currently working on in one place.

Reply
Therese Cohalan

Hi Jeremiah,

Thanks for your comment. This isn’t possible right now. The best you can do at the moment is link up the two sites so that you can easily switch between them. We are looking into adding this sometime in the future but we have no ETA as of yet.

Kind Regards
Therese

Reply
James Woosley

This worked great for me! I was about to export a project and import it but I knew that would be messy. Didn’t know this existed but found it via a Google search and within minutes everything was done. Thanks Teamwork!

Reply
Mark Fouet

HI,

just tried this – linked accounts ok, but when I go to the project options, copy/move isn’t there.
I believe that I’m set-up as an Project Administraor on the project.
Any idea why I’m not seeing the copy/move option?

I see delete, archive etc…

Thanks
Mark

Reply
Therese Cohalan

Hi Mark,

You must be an owner company admin in both accounts to be able to move a project from one account to the other. If you are an owner company admin on both accounts, then can you try logging out and in, and trying again. That should sort everything out.
If that fails, please email us here at support@teamwork.com with your site address’s and we’ll investigate the problem further.

I hope this is helpful.
Kind Regards
Therese

Reply
Pascal Vanhove

Hi,
Can you move projects from a EU hosted account to a US hosted account?
Thanks & regards,
Pascal

Reply
Leanne King

Hi Pascal,

Thanks for reading. Unfortunately, it’s not possible to move projects from and EU hosted account to a US hosted account.

Leanne

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.